جمع المعلومات والأدلة

تضطلع الآلية بجمع المعلومات والأدلة من الكيانات والأفراد، بما في ذلك لجنة التحقيق الدولية المستقلة المعنية بالجمهورية العربية السورية وآلية التحقيق المشتركة بين الأمم المتحدة ومنظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية والدول والمنظمات الدولية أو الإقليمية والكيانات المعنية بمنظومة الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمؤسسات والأفراد.
وتدرك الآلية أن العديد من الكيانات، بما في ذلك المنظمات غير الحكومية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني السورية، قد جمعت وثائق كثيرة بشأن عدد من الجرائم وسواها من الانتهاكات للقانون الدولي في السنوات التي مرت منذ آذار/مارس 2011. ويعتبر عملها حاسماً من أجل استيعاب الأمور المتعلقة بالجرائم المرتكبة في سوريا وبالأشخاص الذين يُدعى مسؤوليتهم عنها. وتجهد الآلية لإرساء علاقات الثقة مع هذه الكيانات الأخرى حتى تتمكن من الاستفادة بشكل كبير من عملها مستقبلاً.

وتراجع الآلية ضمن إطار ولايتها المعلومات والأدلة، المتعلق منها بالتبرئة أو الاتهام، والتي سبق أن جمعتها جهات أخرى وتحدد الفجوات المحتملة. وتستخدم المعلومات الرئيسية وإمكانياتها في مجال إجراء التحقيقات بهدف دعم ملفات الدعاوى التي تقوم بإعدادها.

وخلال عملية جمع المعلومات والأدلة، تبني الآلية مفهوماً كاملاً ودقيقاً بشكل أكبر للجرائم والادعاءات بشأن مرتكبيها، بهدف استخدامه في الإجراءات المتعلقة بالمساءلة مستقبلاً.

Information and Evidence collection

The Mechanism is charged with collecting information and evidence from entities and individuals, including the Independent International Commission of Inquiry on the Syrian Arab Republic, the UN-OPCW Joint Investigative Mechanism, States, international or regional organizations, entities of the United Nations system, non-governmental organizations, foundations and individuals.

The Mechanism is cognizant that multiple entities, including NGOs and Syrian civil society organisations, have gathered extensive documentation of crimes and other violations of international law in the years that have elapsed since March 2011. Their work is crucial to an understanding of the crimes committed in Syria and those alleged to be responsible for them. The Mechanism, is working hard to establish relationships of trust with these other entities, to enable it to build extensively on their work in the future.

As part of its mandate, the Mechanism reviews the information and evidence — both inculpatory and exculpatory — already collected by others and identifies possible gaps. It uses lead information and its investigative capacity to bolster the case-files it develops.

Through the process of information and evidence collection, the Mechanism is building a more complete and nuanced understanding of the crimes and alleged perpetrators, for use in future accountability proceedings.