أسئلة يكثر تكرارها

شدَّدت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة من خلال إنشائها للآلية في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2016 على ضرورة ضمان المساءلة عن الجرائم التي تتضمن الانتهاكات للقانون الدولي المرتكبة في سوريا. وفي الفقرة الرابعة من القرار 71/248، قررت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة تأسيس الآلية ̓للمساعدة في التحقيق والملاحقة القضائية للأشخاص المسؤولين عن الجرائم الأشد خطورة وفق تصنيف القانون الدولي المرتكبة في الجمهورية العربية السورية منذ آذار/مارس 2011’.
جرى تكليف الآلية للقيام بمهمتين. تقوم المهمة الأولى على جمع وتوثيق وحفظ وتحليل الأدلة بشأن الانتهاكات؛ أما المهمة الثانية، فتكمن في إعداد الملفات من أجل تسهيل وتعجيل الإجراءات الجنائية العادلة والمستقلة في المحاكم الوطنية أو الإقليمية أو الدولية، بما يتوافق مع القانون الدولي. وكان الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة قد أصدر تقريراً في كانون الثاني/يناير 2017 تضمن عدداً من الاختصاصات التي تقدم المزيد من التفسيرات بشأن ولاية الآلية.
من المنتظر أن تجمع الآلية الأدلة والمعلومات ذات الصلة من خلال تلقيها من مصادر أخرى، بما في ذلك لجنة التحقيق الدولية المستقلة المعنية بالجمهورية العربية السورية وآلية التحقيق المشتركة والدول والمنظمات الدولية أو الإقليمية والكيانات التابعة لمنظومة الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمؤسسات والأفراد. كما ستجمع الآلية مباشرة، عند الاقتضاء، أدلة أو معلومات إضافية، بما في ذلك المقابلات وشهادات الشهود والوثائق والمواد الجنائية.
وستعتمد الآلية عدداً من الإجراءات التي تتوافق مع المعايير الدولية للقانون الجنائي بهدف جمع الأدلة. وستتخذ التدابير الملائمة لاحترام وضمان احترام سرية شؤون الضحايا وخصوصيتهم ومصالحهم وظروفهم الشخصية، مع الأخذ بالاعتبار طبيعة الجريمة المرتكبة. وستصون الآلية كافة المعلومات ذات الصلة الموجودة في عهدتها وتتحكم وتضبط مسار الوصول إليها، ابتداءً من لحظة الحصول عليها حتى تحويلها إلى الولايات القضائية المختصة.
لن يتم تبادل الملفات التي تقوم الآلية بإعدادها إلا مع المحاكم أوالهيئات القضائية التي تحترم القانون الدولي والمعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك الحق في محاكمة عادلة، وحيثما لا تنطبق عقوبة الإعدام.
ليست الآلية هيئة قضائية أو محكمة ولا مكتب مدعي عام، بل تقوم ولايتها على توثيق الأدلة والمعلومات التي تجمعها وتحليلها وحفظها وإعداد ملفات الدعاوى الجنائية وتبادل هذه الملفات مع المحاكم والهيئات القضائية المختصة للمساعدة في التحقيق والملاحقة القضائية للأشخاص الذين يدَّعى أنهم مسؤولون.
لن تحظى الآلية بالأهلية لتقديم منظومة حماية كاملة للشهود، بما في ذلك، على سبيل المثال، أي برنامج مخصص لنقلهم. لكنها ستستطلع مع الدول احتمالية أن توفر لها هذه الأشكال من الحماية عند الاقتضاء. ويمكن أن يحصل ذلك مثلاً عندما تسهِّل الآلية الاتصال بين السلطات الوطنية للادعاء العام أو القضاء والأشخاص الراغبين في أن يشهدوا في الدعاوى في البلد المنتسب.
تختلف ولاية هاتين الهيئتين الواحدة عن الأخرى، لكنها تكملان بعضهما البعض. ومن المتوقع أن تواصل لجنة التحقيق بشأن سوريا جمع المعلومات مباشرة وإعداد التقارير بشأن أنماط الانتهاكات الواسعة النطاق ووضع التوصيات، لا سيما للدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة. وسوف يبقى عملها جلياً والتقارير بشأنه علنية. في موازاة ذلك، ليس من المتوقع أن تنشر الآلية التقارير بشأن عملها الموضوعي علناً. وسيتمثل دورها في توثيق الأدلة وتحليلها وحفظها وإعداد ملفات الدعاوى لمساعدة المحاكم.
ستكتفي الآلية بتقديم تقرير بشأن تطبيق ولايتها إلى الجمعية العامة مرتين سنوياً. فهي لن تتبادل علناً ملفاتها أو معلومات بشأن ملفاتها أو معلومات تتعلق بالأشخاص الذين يدَّعى أنهم مسؤولون.
تشكل الآلية هيئة مستقلة ومحايدة. وسوف تمارس رئيستها ونائبة الرئيسة وأمانتها ولايتهم ويقومون بمهامهم باستقلالية وحيادية بالكامل من دون طلب أو قبول التوجيهات في ما يتعلق بأداء واجباتهم من أي حكومة أو مصدر خارجي. وستتباحث الآلية مع عدد من أصحاب المصلحة، بما في ذلك المنظمات غير الحكومية والدول والمنظمات الدولية وغيرها من الكيانات. لكنها لن تقبل بأي تدخل من جانب أي من هذه الكيانات ولن تخضع لتأثير أي منها في تنفيذ ولايتها.
قررت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة أن يجري تمويل الآلية، على الأقل في المرحلة الأولية، من خلال تبرعات تتقدم بها الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة. وقدِّرت الاحتياجات التشغيلية السنوية للعام الأول بحوالى 14.3 مليون دولار. وقد تعهدت الجمعية العامة بإعادة النظر في مسألة تمويل الآلية، ومن المأمول أن تقوم الدول في الوقت المناسب بجعل تمويل الآلية يتم من خلال الميزانية العادية للأمم المتحدة بدلاً من التبرعات الطوعية.

Frequently asked questions

By creating the Mechanism in December 2016, the UN General Assembly emphasized the need to ensure accountability for crimes involving violations of international law committed in Syria. In paragraph 4 of resolution 71/248, the UN General Assembly decided to establish the Mechanism ‘to assist in the investigation and prosecution of persons responsible for the most serious crimes under international law committed in the Syrian Arab Republic since March 2011’.
The Mechanism is mandated to conduct two tasks: first, to collect, consolidate, preserve and analyse evidence of violations; and second, to prepare files to facilitate and expedite fair and independent criminal proceedings in national, regional or international courts, in accordance with international law. The UN Secretary-General released a report in January 2017 with terms of reference that further explain the mandate of the Mechanism.
The Mechanism will collect evidence and relevant information by receiving it from other sources, including the Independent International Commission of Inquiry on the Syrian Arab Republic, the Joint Investigative Mechanism, States, international or regional organizations, entities of the United Nations system, non-governmental organizations, foundations and individuals. The Mechanism will also directly collect, as appropriate, additional evidence or information, including interviews, witness testimony, documentation, and forensic material.
The Mechanism will adopt procedures, in accordance with international criminal law standards, to collect evidence. It will take appropriate measures to respect and ensure respect for the confidentiality, privacy, interests and personal circumstances of victims, and taking into account the nature of the crime. The Mechanism will safeguard, control, and track access to all relevant information taken into its possession, from the time of receipt until transfer to competent jurisdictions.
The files prepared by the Mechanism will only be shared with courts or tribunals that respect international human rights law and standards, including the right to a fair trial, and where the death penalty would not apply.
The Mechanism is neither a tribunal or court, nor a prosecutor’s office. Its mandate is to consolidate and analyse the evidence and information it collects, preserve it, establish criminal case files, and share these files with competent courts and tribunals so as to assist with the investigation and prosecution of persons allegedly responsible.
The Mechanism will not have the capacity to provide a full-fledged witness protection system, including, for instance, a witness relocation programme. However, the Mechanism will explore with States the possibility for them to provide such forms of protection when needed. This could happen, for instance, when the Mechanism facilitates contacts between national prosecutorial or judicial authorities and persons willing to testify in proceedings in the associated country.
The mandates of these two bodies are distinct but complementary. The Commission of Inquiry on Syria is expected to continue to directly collect information, report on broad patterns of violations and make recommendations, notably to Member States of the UN. Its work will remain visible and publicly reported. In contrast, the Mechanism is not expected to publicly report on its substantive work. Its role will be to consolidate and analyse evidence, preserve it, and establish case files to assist courts.
The Mechanism shall submit a report to the General Assembly twice a year on the implementation of its mandate. Beyond that, the Mechanism will not share with the general public its files, information on its files, or information on persons allegedly responsible for serious crimes in Syria.
The Mechanism is an independent and impartial body. Its Head, Deputy and Secretariat will exercise their mandate and discharge their functions in full independence and impartiality, without seeking or accepting instructions regarding the performance of their duties from any Government or external source. The Mechanism will engage with a number of stakeholders, including NGOs, States, international organisations and other entities. However, it shall not accept any interference from any of these entities, nor shall it be influenced by them in carrying out its mandate.
The UN General Assembly decided that the Mechanism will be funded, at least initially, by voluntary contributions from UN Member States. Annual operating needs for the first year have been estimated to amount to around US$ 14,3 million. The General Assembly has undertaken to revisit the question of funding for the Mechanism and it is hoped that, at the appropriate juncture, States will move the Mechanism’s funding from voluntary contributions to the regular UN budget.